Article Search Help
The articles tab in the search box searches for scholarly articles through NC Live. When doing a search for articles, it's helpful to think of narrow search terms to limit the number of articles (such as global warming and public policy instead of just global warming). It is especially helpful to use "Refine Results" options on the lefthand side of the page to further narrow down your results to the most relevant items. Make sure you select "Full Text" and "Scholarly / Peer Reviewed," and typically you will want to narrow it down to the most recent five or ten years to find the most current scholarship.
You can also access NC Live directly from the link on our homepage. On the NC Live page, you can access specific categories, such as "Books and Literature" or "Science and Technology" to search articles specifically in those subjects.
For additional search tips and information, check out our NC Live guide.
We also have many other article databases available, which focus on different subjects. Go to these databases individually to search them.
- CINAHL Plus, for example, is an excellent database for nursing and health related articles.
- Credo Reference gathers several encyclopedias and is a great starting place for gathering background information on a particular topic.
- If you are looking for business or legal information, LexisNexis is the place to go.
- For current issues and controversial topics, try Opposing Viewpoints and Issues and Controversies.
- Gale Literature Resource Center and Bloom's Literary Reference Center are excellent places for articles on literature.
- Naxos Music Library contains a wealth of classical music available for streaming.
- Mango Languages is a perfect supplement to your language classes, or a great place to begin learning a new language.
Most databases can be accessed off-campus (with the exception of LexisNexis). Database passwords are posted to Campus Cruiser in the announcements section.