This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

An overview of online databases.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://coastalcarolina.libguides.com/coastaldatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-site/Remote Password

Passwords are posted to Campus Cruiser under the Announcements section. Students and faculty may also request remote access passwords by calling the library at 910-938-6237, or you may send an e-mail to asklibrarian@coastalcarolina.edu

 

R2 Digital Library

NEW Allied Health eBook Collection!


R2 Digital Library is a fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health ebook collection. There are currently 23 books in the collection from a variety of allied health fields including emergency medical services, dental, surgical technology, and more. Keep checking for new titles in this growing collection!

These eBooks are available 24/7 on campus.To access the books off campus, first create a user profile on any campus computer; then use created username and password to login remotely. Contact the LRC staff if you need assistance.

 

NC LIVE

NC LIVE 

NC LIVE, a statewide electronic information resource, offers FREE access to articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. It also provides access to eBooks, audio books, videos, and more. Coastal students, faculty, and staff may request a password from the library for remote access to NC LIVE.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a perfect starting point for creating research projects, writing topic papers and essays and conducting general research. It contains hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries. Credo's technology allows you to quickly connect to relevant, citable and trusted resources.  It also cross references NC LIVE articles and the library catalog. 

 

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

 

The Human Body: How it Works Online

The Human Body: How it Works Online investigates the systems and processes of the human body, from the organ systems to cells, through engaging text and original videos. 

 

CINAHL PLUS with FULL TEXT


Looking for reliable nursing and allied health information? Need the most current information available? Want to share research information with othersWe have a database to help you!

CINAHL® Plus with Full Text  is your online source for full text nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains thousands of full-text articles dating back to 1937, as well as searchable cited references, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

CINAHL Plus Help Sheet

Stat!Ref

Stat!Ref

STAT!Ref Online is the go-to resource for anyone in the healthcare industry. By offering authoritative evidence-based resources such as ACP PIER; ACP Medicine; and MedCalc 3000, STAT!Ref ensures that a wealth of critical, reputable information is available to you 24/7.

A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy

ADAM

A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy is an online tool that allows you to investigate many different layers of human anatomy.

 

LexisNexis

NEW database for legal research, business information, and world news!



LexisNexis is an excellent database containing legal information, business profiles  and collections of major world newspapers, including the New York Times. Just use the separate search boxes on the main page to search within those topics.

At this time, LexisNexis is ONLY available for use on campus computers and cannot be accessed remotely from off-campus.

Mango Languages

Learn a new language today! Mango Languages is a web-based language learning program that offers over 40 foreign languages and 15 ESL courses to explore. Learn anytime and anywhere with remote access and FREE mobile apps.
Username and password must first be created on any campus computer. After profile is created, Mango can be accessed anywhere through the LRC database page or downloadable app. 

 

Issues & Controversies in American History

Issues and Controversies in American History helps you build a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players, the battles they fought, and other issues throughout American history.

 

Modern World History Online

Modern World History Online covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from the mid-15th century to the present.

 

Naxos Music Library

Naxos

Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 80,500 CDs with more than 1,156,600 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.

 

GALE Literature Resource Center

Gale LRC

Gale Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s most important social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. This online resource helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, and creating presentations.

Facts on File

Facts on File

Issues and Controversies explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This database is great for research papers and debate preparation.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is a standard reference work for both defining words and discovering their origins.

 

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library offers practice tests and self-paced courses for students and adult learners. These courses are designed to help prepare you for tests such as the GED and career entrance and occupation exams.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip