This is the "Information for Faculty" page of the "Faculty Support" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Support  

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://coastalcarolina.libguides.com/faculty Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Information for Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Services for Faculty

We welcome the opportunity to collaborate with faculty. We are committed to supporting student success, and we hope that working together can improve the quality of student scholarship. Please contact us, or stop by the library to chat with the librarians, with any ideas about how we can collaborate with you.

The links below outline our services:

 

Subject Librarians

Each librarian is assigned to a specific division to assist with collection development and the creation of LibGuides. Sally Goodman handles the Nursing, Dental, and Applied Health departments. Maria Fesz handles the Humanities, History, Fine Arts, and Business, Legal, and Technology departments. The Natural and Social Sciences, along with English, are covered by Garrison Libby. Janet Rhodes assists with English and Mary Gail Howland is in charge of developing our fiction collection.

Feel free to contact your subject librarian to recommend materials for the LRC, create new LibGuides for your courses, and any other issues relating to your department and the library.

 

Information Literacy Classes

Request an information literacy session for your class.

We will be happy to teach information literacy classes to your students to give them an overview of library services and search techniques. These classes can be tailored to meet the needs of your specific class and assignments. To request an information literacy class, just complete the request form linked above. Faculty may also bring their classes to the LRC for general research. Just give us a heads up beforehand by calling us at (910) 938-6237 or by e-mail: asklibrarian@coastalcarolina.edu

Because of staff and space considerations, and because we wish to give our students the best possible instruction, it is asked that instructors schedule classes two weeks in advance. This gives us time to find an available computer lab so that students may have hands-on experience with library resources. For questions or further information, contact Sally Goodman, Head Librarian at (910) 938-6793 or by e-mail: goodmans@coastalcarolina.edu

 

Choice Reviews Online and Collection Development

Through the library, faculty have access to Choice Reviews Online. Choice provides reviews of recent and forthcoming academic publications. Click on the current issue link to access this month's issue and browse the reviews in your discipline. If there is an item you would like to see the library add to the collection please contact Sally Goodman, Maria Fesz, or Garrison Libby. You may also submit other suggestions by completing the online suggestion form. Don't hesitate to contact any of the librarians with questions and feedback.

We are constantly working to remove old, outdated books and bring new and updated material to improve our collection. We welcome faculty input to help strengthen our collection. Your expertise can help us develop an even stronger library collection. Is there a book that you think would benefit students? Let us know!

 

LibGuides

LibGuides can help students find the most relevant resources for a class or subject that are available to them via the library. To see a current listing of Coastal LibGuides, click here. If you would like to create a LibGuide for one of your courses, please contact your subject liaison and we will be happy to work with you to set one up. The subject liaisons are listed above (see the Subject Librarian box).

 

Reserves

If you have extra copies of the textbook used in your class, please consider making them available for the library reserves. The library provides some textbooks available to be checked out to students for two hours to be used in the library only. This is a great benefit to students, but we rely on the faculty to help provide us with these books.

 

Interlibrary Loan

We offer interlibrary loan services, even for books not available through the CCLINC consortium. Just contact Garrison Libby at (910) 938-6278 or libbyg@coastalcarolina.edu with information about the book or article in which you are interested and we will do our best to obtain a copy from another library.

 

Plagiarism and Citation Guides

We've put together a handy page on plagiarism which you can show to your students. This gives an overview of what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.

We also have a citation guide, which discusses why citations are important and provides links to helpful resources for building and verifying citations.

 

Copyright

If you have questions about copyright, Isothermal Community College has put together an excellent guide to copyright law and its exceptions. You can also contact Garrison Libby at (910) 938-6278 or by e-mail at libbyg@coastalcarolina.edu for more specific advice on copyright issues. Garrison has some background in studying copyright and can help make recommendations for when it is and is not okay to put items online or make copies for classroom use.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip