This is the "How Do I...?" page of the "Library Tutorials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Tutorials  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://coastalcarolina.libguides.com/tutorials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

How Do I...? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Do I...?

Whether it's searching the catalog, renewing a book online, or navigating NC Live, this guide aims to provide answers to your major questions about making the most of our library resources. Be sure to check our video tutorials for visual walkthroughs of these and other questions.

Check below to find out how to:

 

Find Books at Coastal?

The simplest way to find books is to use the search box on our main library webpage. Just enter a keyword (such as global warming) to search for books on that topic. You can also do a search based on author (enter the author's last name first) or title by selecting the appropriate option from the dropdown menu. Typically results will be displayed with the newest books first. 

For advanced search functions, click on the CCLINC Online Catalog link on the main library webpage and then select Coastal Carolina Community College. The power search function will give you more control over your search options, so be sure to use that if you are coming up with too many results.

For more information about the search, please see our video tutorial.

 

Find Books from Other Libraries?

To find books from other NC community colleges, use the dropdown menu underneath the catalog search box and select "All NC Community Colleges." This will search all of the NC community college libraries.

If you find a book at another college that looks helpful, you can request that it be delivered here free of charge! Click on the book you would like to request, and on its catalog page select "PLACE HOLD" (the option is on the lefthand side of the page). It will ask you for your library barcode number and the 4-digit PIN number you chose when registering for the library. If you have forgotten your PIN number, just give us a call at (910) 938-6237 and we will help you reset it.

Typically the book will arrive in a week or so, but this might vary depending on where it is coming from. We will give you a call when it comes in and you can pick it up at the circulation desk.

 

Renew a Book Online?

To renew a book you have checked out, click on the CCLINC Online Catalog link on the main library webpage, and select Coastal Carolina Community College. On the search page, select "My Account" right above the upper green bar, then choose "Renew My Materials". On this page, enter your library barcode number and the 4-digit PIN you chose when signing up for the library. If you have forgotten your PIN number, just give us a call at (910) 938-6237 and we will help you reset it.

After that, just select the items that you would like to renew and click on the "Renew" button and your books will be checked out to you for another 3 weeks! However, if another person has placed a hold on a book, you will not be able to renew that book.

 

Find Articles?

There are several different methods to find articles, and depending on your search topic, some may give you more relevant results than others.

The first option is to use the search box on our homepage, select the articles tab, and then enter a search on your chosen topic. This will search all of the article databases on NC LIVE. You can then use the "Refine Results" options on the lefthand side of the page to further narrow down your results to the most relevant items.

You can also access NC LIVE directly from the link on our homepage. On the NC Live page, you can access specific categories, such as "Books and Literature" or "Science and Technology" to access databases most directly relevant to those categories.

Click here for helpful tips on navigating NC LIVE to get the best search results. Also, be sure to check out the video tutorial on Finding Articles Through NC LIVE.

 We also have many other article databases available, which focus on different subjects.

Most databases can be accessed off-campus (with the exception of LexisNexis). Database passwords are posted to Campus Cruiser in the announcements section.

 

Access Databases Off-Campus?

To access any of our library databases off-campus, you will need to enter a password. These passwords are posted to Campus Cruiser in the Announcements section under "LRC Database Passwords." You may also call us for passwords at (910) 938-6237 or e-mail us at asklibrarian@coastalcarolina.edu

 

Obtain a Library Card?

To obtain a library card, all you need to do is bring your ID and a copy of your current semester schedule to the library circulation desk. There you can fill out a library card application, and we will attach a barcode to the back of your ID. This barcode will allow you to check out books.

 

Find Print Journals?

Print journals are available in the library. We subscribe to some academic journals as well as a variety of popular magazines such as Sports Illustrated and The New Yorker for your enjoyment. These are located on the first floor in the sitting area in the middle of the library.

 

Send a Fax?

You are able to send faxes at the library. Just use one of our two fax machines on the first floor. Sending faxes is free of charge, but we are unable to receive incoming faxes.

 

Scan a Document?

Two scanners are available in the library. These scanners are set up to send the scanned documents directly to your e-mail. Simply ask a staff member for assistance if you need help scanning.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip