Newsletter

As we head into the Thanksgiving break, the library would like to take a moment to express our appreciation for each of you. We are grateful for the collaboration, conversations, and support you share with us throughout the year. Your partnership helps us improve our services, strengthen our collections, and better support our students.

Thank you for your guidance, your questions, and your willingness to work with us as we continue developing resources that meet the needs of our campus community. We value the relationships we’ve built and the work we do together.

We hope you enjoy a restful and restorative Thanksgiving break.
Thank you for all that you do.

— The Library Team

Does your degree program require a standardized test for admission?
Do your students need to take a licensure or certification exam after completing your program?

The library is reviewing our collection of test preparation materials, and we’d love your input. If you know of specific study guides, practice exams, flashcards, or any other materials that would benefit your students, please share your recommendations.

You can submit suggestions through our Purchase Request Form or email us directly at askalibrarian@coastalcarolina.edu.

Your feedback helps us ensure students have access to the tools they need to succeed.

To ensure consistency and clarity for students and faculty, the library will be updating the names of several databases on December 19. These updates align our listings with the official vendor names—the same names students see once they click into the database.

This change will not affect database content or access. Only the display names on the library website and research guides will be updated.

A table below lists each database’s current name alongside its new, official name for your reference.

If you have any questions about these updates or experience any issues accessing a database after December 19, please contact the library.

In honor of Veterans Day, the library is featuring A Patriot’s Day, a film that highlights the experiences and challenges faced by U.S. service members.

Based on true stories, A Patriot's Day follows the lives of three different American soldiers. Set during the Iraq war, the film helps shed light on the mental health issues many U.S. military men and women deal with daily.

Faculty and students can access A Patriot’s Day through the library’s feature film collection.

This Veterans Day, take time to reflect on the courage, resilience, and sacrifices of those who serve — past and present.

Discover new topics or deepen your expertise with The Great Courses Video Library Collection, available through Hoopla BingePass.

Borrow the Great Courses Library Collection BingePass for unlimited access to hundreds of the most popular courses—all with just one borrow. Explore one course or several during your 7-day access period. Each course is divided into short, engaging video lessons that fit easily into your schedule.

Learn at your own pace with no homework, tests, or deadlines—just in-depth instruction from some of the world’s leading professors. Topics span a wide range of disciplines, including:

• Business & Finance
• Food & Drink
• Health & Mindfulness
• History
• Hobby & Personal Pursuits
• Literature
• Mathematics
• Music
• Philosophy & Religion
• Professional Growth
• Science
• Travel & Culture

The Great Courses BingePass is ideal for your own professional development, for sharing with students, or as a supplemental resource for your course.

If you plan to use this resource in your course, we’d love to hear from you!

UPDATE: SERVICES HAVE BEEN RESTORED

Any library databases that utilize AWS (Amazon Web Services) for hosting content are experiencing an outage at this time. We are aware of the issue and are monitoring the situation.

The following databases have been affected that we are aware of:

• Hoopla
• Infobase platforms, including:
  • Films on Demand
  • Issues and Controversies
  • Issues and Controversies in American History
  • African American History
  • Ancient and Medieval History Online
  • Bloom’s Literature
  • Credo Reference
  • Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
  • Just for Kids Streaming Collection

Thank you for your patience while services are restored.

Coastal Carolina Community College Library now provides access to StatPearls. This resource supports allied health students and faculty with practice questions designed for exam preparation and review.

StatPearls offers over 8,000 peer-reviewed medical and healthcare reference articles authored by physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. The platform supports both in-depth study and exam preparation, helping students strengthen their knowledge in key clinical areas.

Currently, the library offers question banks for:

• Nurse Aide

• Sonography

• Radiography

To get started, visit StatPearls and click Sign Up using your Coastal email address (not a personal one). Once registered, you can log in anytime at statpearls.com or through the StatPearls app, available on Google Play and the App Store.
 

V-Scope Explorer is a new virtual microscope tool that allows students to explore interactive microscopic images of single-celled organisms, plant cells, and animal cells. It’s an engaging way to reinforce foundational concepts in biology and anatomy & physiology courses.

The platform is divided into three sections:

• Anatomy & Physiology

• Basic Biology

• Microbiology

Each section includes captioned video descriptions and Activity Guides/Lesson Plans that support hands-on learning and classroom integration.

💡 Instructional Video: How to Use V-Scope Explorer

To access V-Scope Explorer:

1. Select the Access Database button.

2. Log in with the following credentials:

   • Username: NC

   • Password: NC58

The library is excited to highlight LearningExpress Library, a versatile resource available to both faculty and students. This platform offers a wide range of tools for academic success, career development, and professional growth, all in one place.

For Students

• Academic Skills & Test Prep: Access practice exams, tutorials, and flashcards to strengthen core subjects like reading, writing, and math. Support is also available for high-stakes tests, including college entrance exams, certification exams, and more.

• Skill Building: Explore microlessons and eBooks to boost classroom performance or prepare for the next academic step.

For Faculty

• Professional Development: Strengthen workplace writing, leadership, and communication skills with tutorials and interactive resources. New content also addresses emerging topics like artificial intelligence in the workplace.

• Instructional Support: Recommend resources to students who may benefit from targeted practice, from improving grammar to mastering test-taking strategies.

Career Development & Job Preparation
Both faculty and students can take advantage of tools for job readiness, including résumé builders, interview tips, workplace writing practice, and career-focused eBooks.

Spanish-Language Resources
LearningExpress Library also offers a robust selection of content in Spanish, making these resources more accessible to diverse learners.

With tests, tutorials, eBooks, microlessons, flashcards, and even interactive games, LearningExpress Library provides flexible and engaging ways to learn. Whether you are preparing for an exam, building workplace skills, or exploring professional development opportunities, this platform has something for you.

On Friday, October 3, from 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM, NC LIVE will be doing some important system updates. During this time, you might have trouble accessing NC LIVE resources. If you experience any issues, please try again after 8:00 AM. Let us know if you have any questions—we’re here to help!