Welcome
Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) is designed to give students essential skills required for entry-level employment as law enforcement officers with state, county or municipal governments, or with private enterprise. Coastal Carolina Community College offers a Certificate.
Program Specific Databases
- Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Informs the research process for those studying law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowResearch on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Military And Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Library resource offering authoritative periodical content covering past and present military affairs.
- War & Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative periodical content addressing both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
General Databases
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new windowIssues and Controversies explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This database is great for research papers and debate preparation.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNews & Current events! CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints collects articles and argumentative essays on a wide variety of current topics and controversial issues. This can be a great source to consult for any contested issue in the sciences, such as global warming or stem cell research.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowThis database provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Overview provided by ProQuest.
Online Resources
Inter-Library Loan
If you do not see a book in Coastal's library catalog, call or email us. 910.938.6237
askalibrarian@coastalcarolina.edu
*NOTE: Librarians also have access to UNC-W, UNC-Ch, ECU, and Duke Libraries.
Other Resources
| A to Z Database List | Faculty Suggestions |
| Explore our full list of over 100 databases! From general research to more specific, find all the information you need. | The Coastal librarians strongly encourage faculty to reach out and suggest items for our collection. Use the form linked above to make a suggestion. |
Citation Help
What is a Citation?
A citation is a reference to a source of information such as a scholarly article, video, book, website or other mediums of information. This guide is designed to help you with all of your citation needs. The tabs above (which correspond to the descriptions below) provide the most current information about the various citation styles. Select the tab based on the style required for your research writing.
The Social Sciences (Psychology, Sociology, and Health Sciences.) use the APA style.
History instructors will sometimes request the use of the Chicago style.
The Natural Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, etc.) use the CSE style.
The Humanities (English, History, Fine Arts, etc.) use the MLA style.
If you need further assistance feel free to make an appointment with a Coastal librarian or you can use the 24/7 chat service provided in the lower right corner of the screen. This service is managed by librarians in the state of North Carolina.