Skip to Main Content
Coastal Carolina Community College Logo

  Today's Hours:

About Us

Library Mission Statement

The Coastal library's purpose in supporting the Mission of the College is to anticipate and support the information and resource needs of Coastal Carolina Community College students, faculty, and staff. The library is committed to providing the following: 

  • an organized and readily accessible collection of up-to-date materials needed to meet institutional, instructional, and individual needs of students, staff, and faculty;
  • a quiet atmosphere conducive to study and research;
  • a qualified staff, concerned and involved in serving the information needs of the students, faculty, and staff;
  • a collection development policy that includes print, electronic, and other non-print materials that directly support the academic needs of students;
  • access to the collections of other libraries;
  • instruction in the use of resources to enable users to function in an information-driven society;
  • individual assistance provided by a librarian for research-based assignments.

Cooperative Agreements

MCAS Library Cooperative Agreement

Any student with a current registration receipt can use the materials in the collection of the Marine Corps Base Library and MCAS New River Libraries. In addition, according to the Memorandum of Understanding between Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune/MCAS New River Libraries and Coastal Carolina Community College, the College provides access to print and non-print material to support all courses being offered in the Base Library or via electronic transmission.

UNCW Library Cooperative Agreement

By cooperative agreement, Coastal students, faculty, and staff in good standing at the LRC who wish to borrow materials at Randall Library can receive a free NC Community College borrower's card, valid for one year, upon presentation of a valid community college ID card. Find out more on UNCW's website

NC LIVE

NC LIVE – a consortium of North Carolina libraries working together – helps member libraries to better support education, enhance economic development and improve the quality of life of all North Carolinians. NC LIVE provides all North Carolinians – students, faculty, business people, and residents in all stages and walks of life – access to an array of essential and powerful online resources and related services. NC LIVE provides access to 19,000 full-text journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers as well as over 180,000 ebooks and over 20,000 streaming educational videos. NC LIVE also provides access to high-quality tools for test preparation, business and market research, data and demographics, and language learning. Students, faculty, and staff can access NC LIVE from any computer at Coastal or from home using a password. NC LIVE provides access to significant resources for distance learning students.

Policies and Guidelines

Location and Facilities:

  • The library is on the 2nd floor of the Learning Resources Center (LRC).
  • Printers are available on the 2nd floor. Coastal students may print up to 15 pages per day for free; additional pages cost 10 cents each.

Conduct and Usage:

  • Quiet Study Environment: Students are expected to maintain a quiet atmosphere conducive to study.
  • Electronic Devices: Cell phones and other devices must be silenced. Please take calls outside.
  • Food and Beverages: Small snacks and beverages with lids are permitted. Meals should be eaten in the Student Center.
  • Individual Study Rooms: Seven individual study rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis, with priority given to Coastal students. These rooms are for quiet use only (no conversations or recordings). Food is not allowed, but snacks and drinks with lids are permitted.
  • Group Study Rooms: The library has two group study rooms (see specific group study room policy below).

General Policies:

  • Lost or Stolen Items: The library is not responsible for lost or stolen items.
  • Suggestions and Concerns: Direct any suggestions or concerns to the Director of Library Services, Norrine Burton, at 910.938.6278.

Eligibility:

  • Available to currently enrolled Coastal students, faculty, and staff.
  • Rooms are designated for groups of two or more people.

Reservations:

  • Reservation Process: Reserve rooms at the circulation desk with a library staff member.
  • Reservations: Rooms can be reserved up to one week in advance.
  • Reservation Hours:
  • Monday to Thursday: 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. Friday: 7:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • Duration: Each group may reserve a room for a maximum of 2 hours per week.
  • Faculty and staff may reserve rooms for use with students.

Food and Drinks:

  • Only drinks with closed lids and small snacks are allowed in the library and study spaces.
  • Groups with meals or inappropriate food items will be asked to leave.

Saturday Use:

  • No reservations are allowed on Saturdays.
  • Rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis for up to 3 hours.
  • At least two group members must be present to use the room.

Walk-In Use:

  • After using the weekly 2-hour reservation, student groups may use a study room on a walk-in basis from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m on Fridays.
  • Walk-in use is allowed for up to 2 hours, on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • This option is only available to groups that have already used their 2-hour reservation.
  • At least two group members must be present during walk-in use.
  • Groups must vacate the room if the staff indicates that another group needs the space.

No-Shows:

  • If a group does not arrive within 15 minutes of their scheduled reservation time, the reservation may be canceled.

Library Accounts:

  • ID and Barcode: All curriculum students must have a school ID and a library barcode to check out materials.
  • How to Obtain a Barcode: Library barcodes are available by completing an application at the circulation desk or online through the library website.

Book Checkout Policies:

  • Loan Period: Books and DVDs can be checked out for 3 weeks.
  • Series Limit: For book series, patrons may check out up to two volumes at a time.
  • Graphic Novels: Patrons may check out up to five graphic novels at a time.
  • Checkout Limits: There is no overall limit on the number of other books a patron can check out.
  • DVD Limits: A maximum of 3 DVDs can be checked out at a time by enrolled students, faculty, and staff.
  • Overdue Policy: No overdue fines are charged for books. However, patrons are responsible for the replacement cost of lost or damaged items plus a $5 processing fee per item.

Renewals and Returns:

  • Renewals: Books and DVDs can be renewed twice unless another patron has requested them.
  • Interlibrary Loan Renewals: Renewals for interlibrary loans depend on the policies of the lending library.
  • Returns: Books and DVDs can be returned at the circulation desk.

Course Reserves:

  • Textbooks: Textbooks and other course reserves are for in-library use only and can be checked out for a maximum of 2 hours. A student may check out up to 2 textbooks at a time.

Laptop Checkout:

  • Eligibility: Laptops are available for use by Coastal students only.
  • Loan Period: Laptops can be checked out for a maximum of 2 hours per day.

Guidelines:

  • For-Profit Services: Commercial activities are not allowed in the library.
  • Children on Campus: Parents and caretakers should avoid bringing children to the library. Adherence to the campus Children on Campus policy is required, as outlined in the student handbook.
  • Community Members and Visitors: Visitors are asked to check in at the circulation desk.

Library Account Setup:

  • Eligibility: Non-students can open a library account by presenting a photo ID with a current Onslow County address. If the address is not on the ID, a utility bill can be used for verification.
  • Out-of-County Requests: Out-of-county residents may request an account, but approval is at the discretion of the Director of Library Services.

Checkout Privileges:

  • Book Checkout: Non-student adults can check out up to five books at a time.
  • DVD Checkout: Non-students do not have DVD checkout privileges.

Computer and Printing Access:

  • Computer Use: Non-student adults must request assistance from a library staff member to use the library computers.
  • Printing: Non-students must pay 10 cents per page for printing.

Study Rooms:

  • Study rooms are available only to current Coastal students, faculty, and staff.

Children and Minors:

  • Children in the Library: To maintain a quiet environment for study, children are not permitted in the library.
  • Non-Student Minors: Minors who are not students must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

General Guidelines:

  • Non-students are expected to follow all library policies.
  • Community Members and Visitors: Please check in at the circulation desk upon arrival.
chat loading...