Secondary Sources
Secondary sources interpret the past and analyze primary sources.
Examples of secondary sources include:
- Journal articles that review the original work of others.
- Biographies and histories written by people who did not experience events or the time first-hand.
- Commentaries and criticism of primary sources.
- Historical studies, literature reviews and textbooks.
- Magazine articles and Web pages which describe events or ideas a substantial time after they have occurred.
TIPS!
1. Use your keyword brainstorm to help you with the best combination words
2. Know what you are looking for first
3. SAVE SAVE SAVE
eBook Central
Search for eBooks on eBook Central
Use ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant eBooks and chapters; read online; search within the eBook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
Secondary Sources- History Databases
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowAncient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s.
- Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThousands of high-quality videos and documentaries in many different educational fields offered through NC LIVE. Also offers many independent musical performances, historical newsreels, and other video content.
- History Study Center This link opens in a new windowHistory Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.
- Issues and Controversies in American History This link opens in a new windowIssues and Controversies in American History helps you build a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players, the battles they fought, and other issues throughout American history.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- US History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical content covering events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
- US History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context.
- World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of events in world history with relevant articles updated daily - both current thinking and established scholarly work
- World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world and forward to today's headlines to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
Filters to Use
Full Text Online: allows access to the entire article
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed: expert information
Content: this will vary based on what you are looking for
Publication Date: ask yourself how important it is to have information from a certain published period
Discipline: looks at the information from a disciplinary angle
Subject: articles are tagged to key subjects
Search Tips
