Research Tutorial
Researching and Writing Your Speech
Below you will find a number of resources to help you with your COM 231 Assignments.
- Find a Topic: browse these databases to find an interesting, relevant topic to speak about.
- Find the Facts: use these resources to find scholarly and credible research.
- Find Inspiration: check out these speeches as examples of great public speaking.
Speech Outlines
***Please check with your instructor before you select an outline for your speech***
- Informative Speech Outline TemplateThis template is from Central Michigan University. It also includes a template for a persuasive speech.
- Persuasive Speech Outline TemplateThis template is from Monmouth College
- Special Occasion Speech TemplateThis template is from Palomar College.
Both Sides: Strossel in the Classroom
The goal of Both Sides is to provide students with different viewpoints and encourage open discussion and critical thinking. Every Both Sides of the Issue pairing includes a list of discussion questions, so it’s never been easier to get the conversation started.
Find the Facts: Scholarly Research
CREDO Reference
Background and Reference information; an excellent starting point for all research.
Statista: Statistics & Demographics
Millions of statistics with charts and graphs.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
eBook Central
Authoritative and scholarly eBooks.
NC LIVE
Billions of articles, eBooks, and other sources at your fingertips.
Find a Topic: Library Databases
Issues & Controversies
Issues and Controversies explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This database is great for research papers and debate preparation.
Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints collects articles and argumentative essays on a wide variety of current topics and controversial issues. This can be a great source to consult for any contested issue in the sciences, such as global warming or stem cell research.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
SIRS Researcher
This database provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Overview provided by ProQuest.