Data, Statistics, and Demographics
The information on this page is organized into two categories: Library Databases (top), and Web Resources (Bottom).
To use Library Databases, be sure to access them on a campus computer or by logging into the MyCCCC Portal at home. The Databases here have powerful search options to help you find targeted information for your business plan or report.
The Web Resources are from government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics and US Census Bureau. You can use these websites to find raw data about specific regions.
Data + Statistics Databases
Data Axle Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses. Great resource for local company/business profiles!
Business Market Research Collection
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Insights: Global
Gale Business Insights:Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. Provides Plunkett Reports.
ABI/INFORM
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Web Resources: Data + Statistics for USA
Google Trends
Google Trends is a website by Google that analyzes the popularity of top search queries in Google Search across various regions and languages. The website uses graphs to compare the search volume of different queries over time.
US Census Bureau: American FactFinder
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns data is provided by the US Census Bureau. The data are useful for studying economic activity of small areas. Federal agencies use the data to determine employee concentrations and trends by industry. Private businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
US Census Bureau: Current Population Statistics
The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) make significant amounts of data available for specific demographic categories. Demographic categories used by BLS include sex, age, race, and ethnic origin.
U.S. Department of Labor
The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) administers and enforces more than 180 federal laws. These mandates and the regulations that implement them cover many workplace activities for about 150 million workers and 10 million workplaces.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Created in 1953, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) continues to help small business owners and entrepreneurs pursue the American dream. SBA is the only cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.