START HERE: Brainstorm
Brainstorm as much as you can about the person, time period, events, and ideas to help you with your research. It is a helpful starting point.
Tools to Try!
- Credo: Mind Map Tool. Select from the drop down menu in the search bar.
- Bubble map (open online resource)
- Popplet (open online resource)
Evaluating Information
To determine if a resource is credible, consider the following factors:
- Currency
- Accuracy
- Coverage
- Objectivity
- Authority
For additional help on evaluating resources and good questions to consider when looking at a website, check out our guide here.
Find Authoritative eBooks
Find Articles
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
- Information Science & Library Issues Collection This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
- NCLIVE This link opens in a new windowNC LIVE is typically your best bet for finding academic research, offering journal articles and research material in most major academic subjects.
In Need of Research Help?
Book a Research Coach appointment for one-on-one help with a Librarian.
