Summon Search: Search Across All Databases
Choose a Topic
|
Use the Mind Map or Browse tool in Credo to get topic ideas! |
Browse the Science + Technology Section |
|
Browse through the Science + Mathematics section of this Database for Topic Ideas! |
Hard Sciences: Biology, Engineering, Chemistry
ProQuest Science Database
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
PLOS
PLoS stands for Public Library of Science. PLOS ONE is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication featuring reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.
ProQuest Biology Database
This database is a definitive resource for students studying topics in the biology field.
ProQuest Central
This database is good for students with topics that fit into several categories.
Psychology & Health Databases
Gale: Psychology Collection
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Proquest: Psychology Database
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
CINAHL
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Proquest: Health and Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles
Environmental Studies
Environmental Studies: Gale in Context
Focusing on the interdisciplinary study of sustainability and the environment, this database provides a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world.
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Addresses environmental concerns and research from more than 300 journals and book reference content.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Citing APA Sources
The following websites have been designed to provide assistance with properly citing information and formatting papers using APA guidelines. Please consult these for help developing citations.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab-APA
One of the best resources for citation help, Purdue University's English department maintains this website and keeps it up to date with the latest changes in citation. In addition to comprehensive guides on the APA style, Purdue OWL also provides suggestions to help you conduct research and incorporate that research into your academic paper.
- Valencia College Citation Guides
This site has citation examples in APA style that incorporate color-coding to highlight each section of the citation. They also have sample papers to help with formatting.
Reference Tools
Using Filters in a Database
Refine:
- Full Text: gives you access to the entire document
- Scholarly & Peer Reviewed: written by a profession in the field and reviewed by his/her peers in that field
Content Type: What are you looking for?
- Journal Articles
Publication Date: Limit by the date it was published
- Scientific Research: last 3-5 years (Typically)
Discipline: What area of research are you looking in? Depends on topic
- example: "meat consumption" and "climate change"
- environmental studies, agriculture, public health, ecology
- These are the "lenses" in which I can view my topic
Decoding Scientific Writing: IMRaD
Scientific Studies and Reports tend to use technical language that may feel unfamiliar to us. Luckily, studies are generally formatted the same way: IMRaD. Look for the following things to make your research easier:
Abstract- A basic summary of the study.
Subject/Key Terms- Some studies include a list of subject headings related to the study. These can be useful as future search terms.
Introduction: Contains background information on the study, and usually a hypothesis.
Methods: Describes how the study was preformed
Results: Presents the data that was collected as a result of the study; this is typically where you will find charts, graphs, statistics, etc.
Discussion/Conclusion: A review and interpretation of the data and results
- How to Read a Scientific PaperStill feeling a little lost? Check out this guide to decoding Scientific Writing from Perdue University Library!