Find Sources
Help!
- Types of Documents explained! (From Yale University)
- Search other Research Guides
- UNCW: databases
- ​Early American Imprints: Books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America from 1639 - 1800
Think about what types of primary sources might have been produced that would be relevant to your topic and to the time period; think also about which persons or organizations might have produced materials. Some possible types of sources:
Books
Magazine and Newspaper Articles
Diaries and Journals
Memoirs
Interview
Photographs
Advertisements
Government Documents
Letters
Speeches
Gather the information you have about your topic and consider what you still need to know before you start researching. Finding Background Information
- Dates
- Places
- Names of persons involved
- Names of organizations, government agencies, societies, etc.
Reference works and secondary sources can help you find background information on your topic.
Databases: Primary & Secondary Sources
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowAncient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a perfect starting point for creating research projects, writing topic papers and essays and conducting general research. It contains hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries. It also cross references NC LIVE articles and the library catalog.
- World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of events in world history with relevant articles updated daily - both current thinking and established scholarly work
- World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world and forward to today's headlines to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
