Library: Rossum's Universal Robots: Find Articles

Articles of Interest

Anderson, N. (2014). "Only We Have Perished": Karel Capek's R.U.R. and the Catastrophe of Humankind. Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts 25(2-3), 226-246.

Christoforou, E. G., & Müller, A. (2016). R.U.R. revisited: Perspectives and reflections on modern robotics. International Journal of Social Robotics, 8(2), 237-246.

Graham, J. (2013). An audience of the scientific age: "Rossum's Universal Robots" and the production of an economic conscience. Grey Room 50(2013), 112-142.

Thorstensen, R. (2017). Creating golems: Uses of golem stories in the ethics of technologies. Nanoethics, 11(2), 153-168.

Research Tips

Here are some tips to help you find the best possible resources for your research:

Think of keywords before you begin searching. These are the terms that are most relevant to your topic. For example, if you are studying The Ketogenic Diet, you might want to search for "ketogenic", "diet fads", or "low carbohydrates".
Think of any synonyms for your keywords. If you are searching for information on The Ketogenic (Low Carb) Diet, both "ketogenic" and "keto" are two different keywords that might both contain helpful information.
Use quotations around phrases, such as "Low Carbohydrates" to ensure results that contain both words together.
Too many results? Try adding more keywords or using more specific keywords in your search. No results? Remove keywords or try to think of broader keywords to use.

Databases

Science Database

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Texas A&M University Libraries Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is a freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of the science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Provide access to a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Psychology Database

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Bloom's Literature

This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.