Library: ENG 112: Literary Analysis

CCCC Library	7:00am – 5:00pm

Display of Opening hours
	Apr 13 Sunday	Apr 14 Monday	Apr 15 Tuesday	Apr 16 Wednesday	Apr 17 Thursday	Apr 18 Friday	Apr 19 Saturday
CCCC Library	Closed	7:00am – 5:00pm	7:00am – 5:00pm	7:00am – 5:00pm	7:00am – 5:00pm	Closed	Closed

Resources to Help Me

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window Articles, critical essays, topic overviews, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

What is a Literary Analysis?

How do I search for a criticism?

Begin with your author.

Who are they, what do they write about, what is their style
- EX: Phyllis Wheatley; she wrote poems

Choose a theme or common thread

What is a common thing in their writing?
- EX: Politics, religion, sublime, nature, spiritual liberty

String those together in a database

Wheatley AND politics
Wheatley AND religion
Wheatley AND sublime AND nature* (note: in your textbook, there is a brief biographical excerpt discussing the author's life and possible ideas or themes in their writing. Use this!)

Books can be used for criticisms, too!

Student Companion to Richard Wright

A literary heritage chapter examines the genres, themes, and stylistic traditions that figured in Wright's work. Each of Wright's major works of fiction is given careful literary interpretation, with analysis of plot, character development, thematic concerns and a close alternate reading. A selective bibliography of critical works and reviews, in addition to the listings of Wright's stories, essays and full-length works will help students derive the most from their study of this important American writer.

Zora Neale Hurston

Zora Neale Hurston was a flamboyant individual who loathed any attempt to subsume her work under any category whatsoever. Long ignored, her work is now widely read, studied, and praised, including her novel Their Eyes Were Watching God. Learn more about Hurston with this text, which includes an extensive biography of the author, literary criticism, a list of works by and about the author, and more.

Walt Whitman

Each Volume Includes: - User's guide- Essay by Harold Bloom on "The Work in the Person"- Volume introduction by Harold Bloom- Biography of the writer and chronology of his or her life- An in-depth critical analysis of the writer, detailing style, important symbols, themes, and ideas in his or her major works- Supporting critical essays from some of the world's leading critics- A complete bibliography of the writer's works- A list of critical works about the writer and his or her work- An index of themes and ideas in the writer's work

The Cambridge Companion to Emily Dickinson

The Cambridge Companion to Emily Dickinson includes eleven new essays by accomplished Dickinson scholars. They cover Dickinson's biography, publication history, poetic themes and strategies, and her historical and cultural contexts. As a woman poet, Dickinson's literary persona has become incredibly resonant in the popular imagination. She has been portrayed as singular, enigmatic, and even eccentric. At the same time, Dickinson is widely acknowledged as one of the founders of American poetry, an innovative pre-modernist poet as well as a rebellious and courageous woman.

ENG 112