Library: Primary and Secondary Sources: Contemporary History

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a perfect starting point for creating research projects, writing topic papers and essays and conducting general research. It contains hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries. It also cross references NC LIVE articles and the library catalog.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints collects articles and argumentative essays on a wide variety of current topics and controversial issues. This can be a great source to consult for any contested issue in the sciences, such as global warming or stem cell research.
Popular Culture Collection This link opens in a new window Provide access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Video Sources

Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window Thousands of high-quality videos and documentaries in many different educational fields offered through NC LIVE. Also offers many independent musical performances, historical newsreels, and other video content.

Online: C-SPAN video library

Books on Contemporary History

Finding books on contemporary history varies greatly!

Use the library catalog to find a book OR use the Library of Congress call number system to narrow your search and come browse.

B: Psychology and Religion

E-F: History of America

G: Geography

H: Social Sciences (like social media)

J: Political Sciences

K: Law (and crime)

L: Education

M: Music (like Michael Jackson)

Q: Science

T: Technology

U: Military

Primary Sources

Primary sources for contemporary historical topics, events, or people are the same as primary sources for older topics; however, it might be more challenging to think of something. Here are some examples:

OJ Simpson trial: a document could be pictures of evidence or court testimony
Barack Obama as the first African American President: speeches, pictures, letters, laws
Zodiac Killer: news articles, letters, images, police proceedings
WiFi and the internet: news articles, documents, interviews with creators

Finding Primary Documents:

Find sets on the following topics:

AIDS Crisis
Equal Rights Amendment
Stonewall and Gay Liberation Movement