Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER): General OER Respositories

What is an OER Respository?
An OER repository is an aggregator of resources that can be searched and accessed from a centralized portal. Repositories contain FREE, open source, creative commons licensed, or public domain educational material. There are many OER repositories available, with new ones popping up all the time.

General OER Repositories

Below are several general OER repositories. See additional pages under OER Resources for textbooks, books and journals, courseware, and digital media.

  • Community College Consortium for OER
    CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources.
  • GoOpenNC
    Focus is NC K-12, but includes a variety of resources curated by NC educators.

  • Mason OER Metafinder

    The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 17 different sources of open educational materials. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content. This tool was developed at George Mason University.

  • MERLOT

    The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

  • OASIS

    OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) offers users the ability to search a wide range of OER materials. OASIS also is the only tool that allows users to limit searches by creative commons licenses or by faculty review. This tool was developed by the Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo.

  • OER Commons

    From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER. Here are some curated collections to start exploring: Full university courses, Interactive mini-lessons and simulations, Adaptations of existing open work, Open Textbooks.

  • openNCCC
    Library of open educational resources that promotes exploration, creation, and collaboration with the goal of enriching teaching and learning in North Carolina and around the world.

Additional OER Collections

  • GALILEO: Open Learning Materials
    GALILEO brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
  • GoOpenVA
    #GoOpenVA is a collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources 
  • Khan Academy
    Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more.
  • M.O.S.T. - Maryland Open Source Textbook Initiative
    The M.O.S.T. initiative supports long-term, statewide scaling and sustainability of fully accessible, openly licensed course materials.
  • Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
    Unlike other OER discovery sites Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 23 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
  • OPEN Michigan
    Open Michigan’s OER collection showcases teaching and learning resources and experiences from University of Michigan faculty, students, staff, and partner institutions.
  • Open NYS
    OpenEd CUNY is a community for producing, sharing, and discussing OER at the City University of New York.
  • Teaching Commons
    The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, K-12 materials, and more.

Search for Repositories:
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
Global directory of open access repositories and their policies.