Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Textbooks/Books + Journals
- Open Education North Carolina
NC LIVE initiative that aims to reduce the cost of higher education for North Carolina students by providing free, open textbooks for the most frequently taught courses across NC’s 2- and 4-year colleges and universities.
Initiated by Rice University, this site contains peer-reviewed textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
- OENC Curated Collection
Open Education North Carolina (OENC) is an NC LIVE initiative that aims to reduce the cost of higher education for North Carolina students by providing free, open e-textbooks for 30 of the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina’s 2- and 4-year colleges and universities.
- Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
- Milne Open Textbooks (formerly Open SUNY)
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
LibreTexts is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to freeing the textbook from the limitations and costs of traditional textbooks. Our open and freely accessible LibreTexts provide a more engaging learning experience for students without the financial burden.
- openALG: Affordable Learning Georgia
With iterative texts, powerful annotation tools, rich media support, and robust community dialogue, OpenALG transforms static open textbooks into living digital works.
Books + Journals
- Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Elsevier Open Access Journals
All open access journals published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
- Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks Directory support people and institutions in building and sharing ideas. Users, educators, writers, researchers, scholars, artists, and makers are equipped with powerful tools to create, adapt, and share content.